Rambling and other animals. But mostly rambling.

Liebster award(s?)

liebster2

I’m feeling vaguely bewildered these days, such that thoughts don’t really stick around long enough in my head for the surprise of them being there to wear off. That makes it difficult to explain why I felt particularly bewildered when I saw the pingback telling me that Cytrus of Yaranakya had nominated me for a Liebster award, since the bewilderment has pretty much settled down by now, and is busy wearing my head in. So, you no doubt note, you’ve spent a fair bit of words implying that there are other reasons for this bewilderment you speak of, what are they?
Well, for one, I wonder what happens when we run out of new blogs to nominate, or, since the rate of Liebster Awards being sent out rises exponentially and the rate of appearance for new blogs doesn’t necessarily rise exponentially, the number of new blogs will generally fall short of the number of Liebster nominations that need to be redistributed. What then?
The name ‘Liebster’ bewilders me as well.

Oh, and Cytrus has a great blog which offers something that you don’t see in most blogs. Go there.

***

Rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)

3. Answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

4. Provide 11 random facts about yourself.

5. Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)

6. Create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.

7. List these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:

8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)

***

Onward to Cytrus’s Questions

1. The world will blow up in an hour. What do you do with your final hour?

“I thought,” he[a barman] said, “that if the world was going to end we were meant to lie down or put a paper bag over our head or something.”
“If you like, yes,” said Ford.
[…]
“Will that help?” asked the barman.
“No,” said Ford and gave him a friendly smile.

2. Aliens come and want to know whether Earth is worth saving – they ask you to show them three works/things/places/facts to convince them. What do you choose?

The trick here is that you need to convince the aliens to save humanity and Earth, not just Earth. Unfortunately I’d make a mess of both and, well…
We’re all going to die.

3. The same aliens offer you a deal: they will save Earth if you can beat them at a (fair) game. What game/sport/challenge do you choose?

Fairness, like most similar ideas, is a slippery word. So, for example, if I’m to pick a game that the aliens know nothing about, then it raises the question of how much explanation and practice is necessary to level the playing field enough for the game to be ‘fair’, proper. Then there are some games that favour one player over another – consider things like opening player advantages, and also tips, tricks and whatnot. I’m mostly thinking about this from a strategy game perspective, so no doubt there are variables that I’ve yet to consider. There’s also ways you can play around with win conditions.

What do I mean by this? Well, if I start a 100-planet game of Sins of a Solar Empire, its going to take a few hundred years to finish, since the smallest of SoaSE bomber-rush games are 40 minutes long. Win-win. Recall that episode of NGNL in which Sora aims to draw.
A triumvirate of Vulkoras-Antorak-Jarrasul when coupled with a few disposable bombardment vessels can do some real damage as long as you keep your culture research up to scratch and play as Vasari Loyalist, since that lets you ninja-scuttle key planets. Doesn’t work versus Advent, though; stupid culture values are too high. The problem with Vasari is that it doesn’t hold up in a straight firefight, but with that many planets, as long as you keep scouting and hurry along with the jump-detection research, you’ll be fine.

A 100+ planet SoaSE 5v5 would be apt, epic and awesome, and it would kill every brain cell left in my already busted head.

4. What’s the weirdest thing you’ve eaten/drunk in your life?

I think I’ll go with Fish eyes.
Well, it was a fish and the head hadn’t been cut off, so maybe the eyes were optional, and you were supposed to gouge them out and leave them elsewhere, but I didn’t know that, and I hate leaving plates half-empty. There was a time I would have said brain, but that was before I ate it; brain tastes fantastic.

5. Name one thing somebody did for you that you are most grateful for.

Pinpointing the one thing is hard and I don’t want to try. It was my coach from a few years back, and he did something. I don’t even know. The man was a bit nuts.

6. Has your opinion on a subject ever changed 180 degrees after years passed/something happened/you learned something new? If so, what was it?

I used to debate a year ago, and rather enthusiastically. Now I think its a terrible discipline.

7. You happen to reincarnate as an animal of your choice, what animal do you pick?

Technically, humans are animals.
But if that’s out of the question, I’d not mind being a cat overmuch. Except for the thing about hairballs and very short lifespans.

8. Choose one anime character for president of your country.

Common sense tells me to pick someone with heavy levels of plot armor, like Jesus Yamato.

But, Scheherazade is mai waifu, and though she may be dead and replaced by the infinitely inferior Titus, its Scheherazade or bust.
I do wonder why they picked the name Scheherazade for that particular character in Magi. The story of Scheherazade involves some excessive use of cliffhangers.

9. Pick one book school forced you to read, and now you’re glad about it.

School didn’t really make me read much, and literature was an optional subject most of the time. Fortunately I picked it. Unfortunately none of the books there were particularly transformative. Fortunately they weren’t bad.

It would have to be Death of a Salesman.

10. What is the ultimate form and kind of cheese?

Uhh… Cheddar? I’m not much of a connoisseur, as you can see.
Unprocessed goat cheese tastes somewhere between too sour and terrible, but its a blast to eat when reading some medieval-fantasy novel, especially since cheese is the universal energy source in that genre. Oh, and extra points if its a cheese wheel, or a wedge of one. Slices suck.

11. Cat person? Dog Person?

Praise teh nekoverlords.

***

Random facts:

-I have a stuffed penguin named The Lord, and a stuffed walrus named Stuffed Walrus.
-…and a few jointed toes.
-I’ve been working on this post for about four days because I can’t think of anything good to put in it.
-Getting hit by a car often doesn’t hurt initially because your nervous system goes in a kind of panicked reboot. Spoken from Wikipedia and experience.
-I think my first experience of anime, ever, was a music video of Inuyasha to some pop song I could never find. The lyrics had something to do with water getting deep and something being everywhere.
-…folowed shortly by a Cardcaptor Sakura magazine.
-Its forty something degrees outside. Thirty nine at night. Yeah, you can clearly tell I’m running out of ideas.
-There’s a violin sitting twelve feet from me that I haven’t so much as touched since I bought it five months ago.
-Finished Dark Souls II in under 200 deaths.
-Has anyone tried out chaosgulch? Because anyone really should.
-I have a really terrible eleven facts list.

***

Nominees:

Ideas Without End
Animeisdead
Dataport Doll
Shibirerudarou?
Iblessal’s blog, which I refuse to name for reasons comprehensible only to myself, and not very much at that.
(On further research and the discovery of something called About pages, it has come to my attention that most of the few blogs I’ve linked to have already been nominated. No it has not come to my attention at all.)

***

New questions list:

  1. In light of the fact that humans have done, rationalized, thought, and sassed* pretty much every crazy thing under the sun over the past few centuries, do you think it makes sense to criticize shows for nonsensical characterization?
  2. Subtext is an imagined thing; it bases itself on (flimsy) assumptions of what a work intends to do, no?
  3. Can style be substance? Or, to be more precise, do you buy into the style/substance dichotomy, and for whatever response, why?
  4. How much of your soul did you leave behind on your first visit to 4chan(or regional equivalent)?
  5. So (since we’re asking heavy questions) why blogging of all things?
  6. …and what keeps you blogging past the initial wave of zeal?
  7. Where do you generally draw the line on “This story needs to elaborate on that, that and that”? To phrase this better: at what point are you content to let you head do the work for a show which alludes to something, but doesn’t spell everything out?
  8. We will always have villains; the antagonist/protagonist binary is here for good. Thoughts?
  9. Best Chrono Trigger character?
  10. Favourite genre?
  11. You get to choose what aliens invade/make first contact with Earth. Which one would you pick?

*’sassed’ may not mean what you think it means.

One response

  1. “which I refuse to name for reasons comprehensible only to myself, and not very much at that.”

    This is probably the most baffling thing anyone has ever said about part of my blog ever.

    Nonetheless, thanks for the nomination. Perhaps I’ll get around the questions after I recharge my blogging batteries.

    June 10, 2014 at 12:21 am

Leave a Reply

